REVIEW: POND’S Cold Cream Cleanser

Hello beautiful people!

Today, I’ll be writing about a classic cold cream cleanser that has been out for the longest time now, and is considered a very old-fashion way to cleanse and remove makeup. That is, POND’S Cold Cream Cleanser.

BeautyPlus_20160221214639_save

Cream cleansers might sound scary to those who have oily skin. However, I have oily, acne-prone skin and I haven’t had a problem with this product.
It’s gentle and moisturising. The best part is that my lashes are left feeling nourished every time (considering I do a hell of a lot to it everyday 😣).
Considering this works so well for my oily skin, it’ll probably work just as well, or even better, for my dry skin gals out there.

I use this cold cream strictly as a makeup remover and double cleanse my face afterwards with a different cleanser. It works really well in breaking down the makeup, even stubborn waterproof mascara.
I don’t know about you, but I’m so lazy when it comes to removing my makeup and cleansing at the end of the day. With that being said, nothing feels better than a bare, cleansed face at the end of a long, busy day!
Ever since using POND’S Cold Cream, my nightly routine has become a lot easier and quicker, especially when I wear waterproof mascara on a daily (thank you, Asian genes 😪)!

The only problem I have with this product is its packaging. It comes in a tub where you’d have to scoop out the product with your hands, and if you need to go in for more, then it becomes a very unsanitary process 🙅
If you have one of those beauty spatulas, you’re better off using that. Although, I am guilty of being lazy and I just dip my dirty hands directly in there 🙊1456026546564

Texture, feel and smell
The cold cream is cold (obviously) and greasy; very greasy, actually, not gonna lie. If you’ve never used an oil cleanser before (or some kind of oil-based remover), then it’d get some time getting used to. Like I’ve mentioned earlier, I double cleanser straight after to remove the oily residue off my face.
The smell is a very subtle fragrance; it doesn’t bother me too much.

1456027000997

Key Ingredients
POND’S Cold Cream Cleanser claims to be 50% moisturiser, removing dirt and makeup while infusing the skin with vital moisture.
The two ingredients responsible for this include mineral oil and beeswax.

  • Mineral oil effectively removes makeup from the skin’s surface
  • Beeswax is known to act as a moisturiser by preventing moisture from leaving the skin


How to use
Apply a generous amount to the skin.

1Here, I have a hand full of makeup – full coverage foundation, waterproof eyeliner and mascara, and lipstick.

Massage gently for a good minute or until you feel like the makeup has broken down and melted in with the cold cream.

2After 10-15 seconds of gently massaging

As you can see from the image above, stubborn, waterproof formulas will take a bit longer – be patient! 😉

1456054528138After a further 20-25 seconds of gently massaging

Wipe off with a wet wash cloth or makeup wipe.

1456054594918

Here, you can see that after wiping off with a cotton pad, the skin is left looking slightly greasy. Whether you want to double cleanse or not, that’s completely up to you. But from personal experience, I cannot go without double cleansing due to it being so oily.

Be extremely gentle around the delicate eye area. I do use this to remove my eye makeup, and I find it gentle enough with no stinging or burning sensations. Although, just be careful it doesn’t actually go INTO the eyes.
That might be a different story…


Quick run-down:

Pros:

  • Hypoallergenic
  • Suitable for sensitive skin
  • Won’t clog pores
  • Dermatologist tested
  • Affordable
  • Breaks down waterproof formulas well
  • Nourishes the lashes

Cons:

  • Leaves skin feeling greasy
  • Might not be suitable for oily skin (although I’ve had no problems with it)
  • Packaging makes it inconvenient and unsanitary

 

Pond’s Cold Cream Cleanser retails for $7.99 (269 g) at Chemist Warehouse or any other stockists. For how much you pay, it is totally worth it and last you a good amount of time. One tub lasted me almost a year.

That is all for my review on POND’S Cold Cream Cleanser. Let me know, down in the comments below, what you use to remove your makeup.

Have a good night, beauties! x

rk.

6 thoughts on “REVIEW: POND’S Cold Cream Cleanser

    1. Yes, this probably would be perfect for you girls!
      Oh, I’ve never thought of that! But you know what, the cream is quite thick, I don’t know if it’d work :/
      To be honest though, I don’t worry too much about it being unhygienic though cause I do double cleanse afterwards.

      Like

      1. Unfortunately, it’s not stocked in Priceline 😦 That inconvenience, I know. But head into your local Chemist Warehouse and you’ll definitely find it there!

        Like

Leave a comment